Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

Division Overview

"It is the aim of the Bristol Virginia School Division to provide a range of programs, classes, and pupil services which accommodate the ability levels and individual needs of the pupils, to the end that each pupil may fully develop his mental, emotional, and physical potentialities, and recognize his own dignity and value as an individual and his responsibilities in a free society."  - Philosophy Bristol Virginia School Division

The Bristol Virginia School Division is comprised of four pre-K/Kindergarten through 5th grade elementary schools. one grades 6-8 middle school, and a grades 9-12 comprehensive high school.  All schools are fully accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and School. The division's annual budget (2015-2016) is $26,761,587 with a per pupil expenditure of $11,711.77.

The full array of educational offerings is available at all levels, including special education, gifted education, and Tech Prep.  Each elementary school has a networked computer lab which provides opportunities for individualized instruction and content enrichment.  The Virginia Middle School offers French and Spanish as well as Algebra 1 and Geometry.   All schools have outstanding art and music classes taught by specialists.

Virginia High School offers Advanced Placement classes in English, computer science, history, science, and math, Tech Prep classes, honors classes, as well as outstanding career and technical offerings, such as marketing, culinary arts, and criminal justice.  More than 76% of the graduates continue their education in a two or four-year colleges.

Class sizes average approximately 18 students at the elementary level, 15 at the middle school level, and 17 at the high school level.

More than 200 educators including classroom teachers, guidance counselors, special education teachers, librarians, and other specialists provide the best possible education for each child.  Nearly 50 percent of the certificated staff have earned master's degrees and the average Bristol Virginia teacher has more than 16.8 years of classroom experience.

Click on the links below for addresses, phone numbers, driving directions and more information:

 Highland View Elementary School

Joseph Van Pelt Elementary School

Stonewall Jackson Elementary School

Washington-Lee Elementary School

Virginia Middle School

Virginia High School

 

 

  Administration Department Email
  Keith Perrigan, Ed.D. Division Superintendent kperrigan@bvps.org
  Gary Ritchie Assistant Superintendent gritchie@bvps.org
  Steve Bonney Director of Special Education sbonney@bvps.org
  Tammy Jones Director of Finance tmjones@bvps.org
  Jeff Shelton Director of Technology jshelton@bvps.org
  Jennifer Hurt Director of Federal Programs jhurt@bvps.org
  Bill Buckles Director of Maintenance & Transportation bbuckles@bvps.org